Four Wyoming teachers have been honored with the Presidential Award for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching.

They are Necole Hanks, who teaches sixth grade science at Powell Middle School; Amy Kassel, who is the secondary mathematics curriculum coordinator and instructional facilitator with Laramie County School District 1 in Cheyenne; Helen Ommen, who teaches gifted and talented students at Spring Creek Elementary School in Laramie; and Jim Stith, who teaches environmental science at Newcastle High School.

Established in 1983, the award is the highest award kindergarten through 12th grade mathematics and science (including computer science) teachers can receive from the U.S. government.

“These four teachers are an inspiration to students and colleagues. They are true leaders,” said State Superintendent of Public Instruction Jillian Balow. “I am so very proud of Necole, Amy, Helen and Jim for their dedication to math and science education, and for their commitment to the students of Wyoming.”

The four will receive a certificate signed by President Trump, a $10,000 award from the National Science Foundation and will travel to Washington, D.C. for an awards ceremony.


More From Wake Up Wyoming